Let’s Get Started!

Okay any good relationship should start out with honesty….so here goes.  I was totally not into getting into this whole Blog, Twitter, Facebook and well the whole social media ‘thing’.  Then I started to think about it…I am already involved whether I thought I was or not.  For example; I belong to at least 60 teacher blogs and have for many years. Although I have never met most of these teachers, therapeutic tutors or parents we have exchanged web sites, ideas, lesson plans, fonts, pictures, marriages, deaths, and in general just life.  So even when I think that this is something that I am not interested in….I have to laugh at myself because I am already there!

Having said that I must explain my reason for taking the PIDP program.  I have worked as a Therapeutic Tutor for the North Vancouver School board for about 20 years now.  I also work at Surrey College apprenticing to teach the Orton Gillingham program to adults.  This is a multisensory approach to reading that was developed in the 1920 by Dr. Orton and Mrs. Gillingham.  This Course helps to prepare adults to teach reading skills to individuals that have dyslexia and other reading challenges.  Taking the PIDP courses through Vancouver Community College have helps me to develope some tools and techniqes make my course not only more interesting but fun as well.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment